Hello world!

Well, here we are: Ten years working as IT for a small company have given me lots of experience and gave me enough time to test and try multiple ways of building environments and solutions so my colleagues can go through their work day without worrying about their computer, the network or anything computer related. This is not the most challenging part, however: Aside from the fact that an IT employee’s work remains in the background as long as there’s no problem at all, there’s a secondary handicap: To do thing right, to do them fast and sometimes, most important: To do them free or as cheap as possible: That’s where my interest for free software comes in handy: Not as a way to save money for a small company in a declining market as is printing: But also as a way to find siting solutions that don’t lock you to closed software. Sticking to standards could be one of the most appealing qualities of free software and that’s why I choose to implement it whenever I can: Both at my professional workplace as back at my home.

It’s been long since I first tried LINUX. Slackware back at 97, or 98… I really can’t remember, it was way too long ago. Needless to say, there was no internet at that time an you fully depended on your skills at reading manuals. I never made it to work but was a very interesting couple of months I tried to figure out how *nix systems worked.

6 years later, while I was studying IT, I went back to try my luck with LINUX: It was getting more and more mature and that time, Mandrake was my favorite: Making my USB modem to work was a total challenge! But it was worth it.

Then, along came Ubuntu, which I used for a coupe of years, always feeling that lack of total freedom. I have nothing against them and still think it’s the perfect start-distro, but that’s all it is: A simple, yet robust, distro.

2008 was the year I discovered Arch linux and since then, I didn’t look back. The atomic configuration , the KISS mentality and its Wiki and community, along with the fact of being a rolling release distro (no need to reinstall or fear new releases) and their AUR is the best qualities I can speak of regarding this distro. I have it on every available PC at home: On my two PC’s and on my raspberry, which I use as LIVE cam.

But LINUX is not my only passion: Technology itself. I enjoy reading articles about new gadgets, computer hardware, new inventions, breakthroughs in science. Even though my specialty while studying was software development and the fact that I had to design a couple of apps (in visual basic, first and java later), I always have been more interested in the hardware and software part rather than programming.

Which finally led me here: After all this years I have been hoarding handbooks, tips I wrote myself and thousands of hours testing software and ways to implement solutions, until today, when I finally thought it would be a nice experience to try and share it with the world.

I’m not looking to be a big time blog with thousands of visits, and my main goal is to help anyone that goes through the same as I do and give them an insight of my experience.

But, why in English?, you might ask…. Even though it’s not my mother tongue, I always believed language exists to communicate the humanity, and, even though I speak the second most spoken language, as is Spanish, I decided to write my notes in English to make them more accessible for everyone. Spanish is the second most spoken language after Chinese, of that, I’m sure: But English seems like the best middle ground for everyone after all, it’s accessible, as it’s taught in school in most countries, and it’s a fairly simple language as well. (however, I don’t think it would be too difficult to have a Spanish version of this blog in the future, who knows!).

Anyway, to sum it up: Whoever you are, and wherever you are, I hope you enjoy and find my notes useful. Feel free to ask any question you might have. See you around!

Leave a Reply

